Google Pixel 4's Motionsense feature available in selective countries

Pixel 4's Motion Sense feature won't be available in all countries

The so-called Motion Sense feature on the upcoming Pixel 4 phones is no longer a secret since even Google itself teased the functionality. Motion Sense is based on the radar technology developed under the name Project Soli and it will see it for the first time on a phone. However, it won't be available for use in all countries and with all apps, according to new developments.

Pixel 4's Motion Sense feature won't be available in all countries

A more in-depth dissection of the pre-release version of the Motion Sense app reveals that the gestures will only work in 38 countries. Probably the radar technology needs approval from the authorities in some countries. Here's the list of the approved markets:

  • American Samoa
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Guam
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Puerto Rico
  • Romania
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • Virgin Islands 
  • U.S.

Moreover, Google has whitelisted only six media apps that would be compatible with Motion Sense. Supposedly, you will be able to skip tracks, go back, play, pause and control the volume. Perhaps future support for other apps will eventually come.

  • Amazon Music
  • Deezer
  • Google Play Music
  • iHeartRadio
  • Pandora
  • Spotify
  • Spotify Stations
  • YouTube Music
  • YouTube

When you think about it, Google's phones aren't exactly widely available and have a limited market reach. Each year the market pool is growing and the list might indicate that Pixel phones will be made available to some if not all of the countries listed above.

Post a Comment